Upgrade Clients

Use this option to upgrade Windows and Linux clients to the latest supported client version.

Prerequisites

  • Client upgrade is supported only for Windows and Linux endpoints.
  • Upgrade is available for Virus Database (VDB) dated 7th July 2026 or later.
  • The latest client version is v10.14.2.0.
  • If an endpoint is offline when the upgrade is initiated, the upgrade request is queued and starts automatically when the endpoint reconnects to the server.
  • Mac endpoints cannot be upgraded. Uninstall the existing client and install the latest client package.

Upgrade Clients

You can upgrade individual endpoints or multiple endpoints simultaneously.

  • To upgrade an individual or multiple endpoints use Client Actions > Upgrade Clients.
  • To upgrade endpoints from a group, select the group, and then use Group Actions > Upgrade Clients.

To upgrade clients, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Status page.
  2. Select one or more endpoints.
  3. From the Client Actions list, click Upgrade Clients.
  4. Click Submit.

The upgrade request is sent to the selected endpoints. The action is performed according to the configured polling interval.

Windows Client Upgrade

Windows client upgrades are consent-based.

Configure Client Upgrade Settings

Before initiating the upgrade, configure the maximum period for which users can postpone the upgrade.

  1. Go to Settings > Client Upgrade Settings.
  2. Specify the Maximum Snooze Days (0–7 days).
  3. Click Save.

The configured value determines the user experience during the upgrade.

Snooze Setting User Experience
0 days The upgrade starts immediately and the endpoint restarts automatically.
1–7 days The user can postpone the upgrade until the configured deadline. After the deadline, the upgrade starts automatically.

When the upgrade notification is displayed, users can choose:

  • Upgrade and Restart Now
  • Snooze (available only if the configured snooze period has not expired)

After the upgrade:

  • The client is upgraded to v10.14.2.0.
  • The AV Status changes to Success on EPP web console.
  • A system restart is required to complete the upgrade.
  • If Universal Agent is installed, it is automatically integrated after the upgrade.

Linux Client Upgrade

After the administrator initiates the upgrade:

  • The upgrade starts automatically.
  • The AV Status changes to Upgrade in Progress.
  • The client is upgraded to v10.14.2.0.
  • The AV Status changes to Success on EPP web console.
  • If Universal Agent is installed, it is automatically integrated after the upgrade.

Note: Linux client upgrades do not support the consent-based upgrade or snooze option.

Known Limitations for Windows

  • If the Windows operating system (OS) initiates an OS update or upgrade and performs a restart during the AV installation during Client upgrade process, the AV installation may be interrupted. In such cases, the client must be cleaned up and reinstalled.

    Recommendation: Do not initiate Windows Updates or upgrades before the EPP Client upgrade notification is sent. This helps prevent unexpected system restarts that could disrupt the installation process and require client cleanup and reinstallation.

  • Sometimes AV uninstallation may get stuck due to Real-Time Behaviour Detection remains in a stopping state, the upgrade may not complete successfully.

    Workaround: In this case, an additional manual system restart is required to complete the AV uninstallation and allow the upgrade process to proceed successfully.

In both of the above scenarios, the AV Status on the EPP web console will be displayed as Reboot Required.

Was this page helpful?