Policies for Computer

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Under Policies, you can add a new policy, edit a policy, and delete a policy for your computers.
MSSP provides system defined polices for various reasons such as how and what files should be scanned, what email protection should be applied, what firewall and online security should be applied, and other protection for security.
This chapter includes the following sections.

  • Adding or duplicating a policy
  • Editing and publishing a policy
  • Deleting a policy

Adding or duplicating a policy

To add a new policy you need to duplicate a policy and then you can configure the settings of the duplicated policy as per your requirement. The duplicated policy inherits the settings of the existing policy.

To add or duplicate a policy, follow these steps.

  1. Log on to MSSP with your credentials.
  2. Under the Policies list, click the Computer menu.
    A Polices list is displayed.
  3. On the Policies list, select a policy and then click the duplicate icon under the Actions column.
  4. Edit the Policy Name and then click the check mark to save the policy.
    The policy is added to the policy list.

Editing and publishing a policy

To edit a policy, follow these steps.

  1. Log on to MSSP with your credentials.
  2. Under the Policies list, click the Computer menu.
    A Polices list is displayed.
  3. On the Policies list, select a policy and then click the edit icon under the Actions column.
    You can change the policy name, description, and policy settings.
    Note: The default policy cannot be edited.
  4. To save your settings, click Save.
    A confirmation message is displayed.
    You may need to publish the new setting to the customers. To publish the setting, click the Save and Publish button. The new setting is applied to the customers to whom that policy is applied.
  5. To close the confirmation screen, click Close.

Deleting a policy

To delete a policy, follow these steps.

  1. Log on to MSSP with your credentials.
  2. Under the Policies list, click the Computer menu.
    A Polices list is displayed.
  3. On the Policies list, select a policy and then click the Delete button.
    The selected policy is deleted.
    Make sure if you want to remove a policy. A policy once deleted cannot be recovered.
    You cannot delete a default policy or a policy that is assigned to a customer.
    Tip: If you want to delete a policy that is assigned to a customer, you first need to unassign the policy from the customer. To unassign a policy, you have to apply a different policy to the customer so that the policy becomes unassigned to any customer and then you can delete the policy.
Was this page helpful?